OWEL is rock band from Woodbridge, NJ. They write ethereal, guitar-focused music with a special agenda for dynamic crescendo. Jay Sakong’s vocals are subdued, intimate and present-minded. His side gig, writing soundtracks, is a clear influence on the sheer scope of sound the band achieves. They bolster their image by using a healthy amount of pedal effects and a self-made light show. Jane Park’s violin adds to the orchestral power of the indie rock quintet’s climactic noise.

OWEL has been steadily climbing over the last year, touring with similar acts across the country. Their debut record, OWEL, produced by Jay Sakong himself, is chock full of startlingly emotional, cinematic songs. With tracks like “Float” and “Death in the Snow” clocking in at over 6 minutes, the record provides a musical experience not to be overlooked.

Session Tracklist
1. Float
2. Nothing's Meant
3. Burning House
4. Death in the Snow
5. Snowglobe

Woodbridge, NJ

Band Members

Jay Sakong – Vocals and Guitar
Seamus O’Connor – Guitar, Keys and Vocals
Jane Park – Violin, Keys and Vocals
Pat McGee – Bass and Vocals
Ryan Vargas – Drums

Visit the band’s website

For our friends who live in countries where YouTube is blocked, watch the session on Vimeo.