J Fernandez


J Fernandez is a synth-led songwriter who writes somber, lo-fi tunes with his four piece band. His psychedelic bedroom pop feels like airy 60’s folk, but has a quirk that’s all his own. The Humboldt Park resident paints himself as a stir-crazy, charismatically aloof frontman. His debut, ‘Many Levels of Laughter,’ is intelligent and loosely crafted. Songs like ‘Ready My Mind’ and ‘Casual Encounter’ mirror the disjointed, intimate pieces of Fernandez’s mind through open jazz sections and swarming MIDI lines. It’s the kind of record that sits the listener down right across from its creator – preferably in an old fuzzy couch in a dingy, but well-decorated, garden apartment.

Fernandez is fresh, young, and full of unique concepts; a novel songwriter poised to make huge waves with each release. Watch him perform tracks from the effortlessly dynamic debut album here on Audiotree Live.

Session Tracklist
1. Casual Encounter
2. Between the Channels
3. Read My Mind
4. Souvenirs
5. Memorize Now
6. Image
7. No Luck

Band Members
Justin – Guitar, Synth and Vocals
Joey – Organ and Vocals
Drew – Bass
Mike – Drums and Vocals

Visit the band’s website

For our friends who live in countries where YouTube is blocked, watch the session on Vimeo.


Indie PopAudiotree