Derek Nelson & The Musicians

Riders of the Tide is the full-band followup to Something Obscure, the acclaimed solo premiere of Derek Nelson.

Recorded over four days in September at Engine Studios by Neil Strauch (Bonnie Prince Billy, Iron and Wine), and written and arranged by The Musicians, the songs on Riders of the Tide mark a distinct evolution from those heard on its sparse predecessor.

Released to a sold out crowd at Schubas in Chicago, Riders of the Tide is more haunting, driving and urgent, yet keeps in touch with the sound that led the band to headline Chicago’s largest clubs in its first year, and be named “a force to be reckoned with” (SPIN), the “Top band to see at Taste of Chicago,” (Metromix) and “Top 10 to watch in 2010” (CDBaby), along with praise from the Chicago TribuneChicago Sun-TimesChicago Red Eye, and more.

Session Tracklist
1. Saya Sayanora
2. Storm Comin'
3. Jesus (In a Phone Booth)
4. Modern War
5. Come and Wait
6. Die Darlin'
7. American Moon
8. This Time Around
9. Same As Always

Chicago, IL

Visit the band’s website