Cory Branan

For our friends who live in countries where YouTube is blocked, watch the session on Vimeo.

Session Tracklist
1. Come On, Shadow
2. Sour Mash
3. Survivor Blues
4. No Hit Wonder
5. Missing You Fierce
6. Daddy Was a Skywriter

Cory Branan grew up playing heavy metal in Southaven, Mississippi and transitioned into finger-style folk in later years. This ethos infused with his visual storytelling ability and apt turn-of-phrase sets him on a pedestal far above other singer-songwriters. Branan is a guitar-first performer; his quick fingers and affinity for cranked volume make for a performance that’s fully captivating regardless of the number of bodies on stage.

He’s a seasoned folk veteran; having a dense discography that branches back to 2001. Branan is prone to long breaks between albums with the lengthiest clocking in at 6 years. His new record “No Hit Wonder” is the closest thing to a concept record Branan might ever write. Thematically it’s a record about making do with the cards life has dealt you, but willing to turn on a dime between straight forward rock, downhome country, and even accordion-led vaudeville lounge.

Branan has been respectably viewed by his peers since his debut. He’s gained committed fans in the likes of folk punk and alt-country stalwarts Chuck Ragan, Jason Isbell, Craig Finn of the Hold Steady and Brian Fallon of the Gaslight Anthem. Watch him perform tracks from the new release and a few old stand by’s.

Band Members
Cory Branan – Guitar and Vocals

Visit the band’s website