The Chicago-based indie rock band Hemmingbirds is a newcomer to the music scene having just released their debut album, Death Wave, on May 2010. The band originally began as a solo project by Yoo Soo Kim in the fall of 2009. Yoo Soo performed, recorded, produced, mixed, and self-released Death Wave with the aid of Zach Benkowski on drums. Since then, the band has expanded its lineup to create the powerful 5-piece band it currently presents itself to be.

Despite the band’s age, Hemmingbirds has quickly gained acclaim by critics and listeners who praise the band’s strong songwriting sensibilities and diverse styles. The anthemic pop rock mixed with acoustic folk, heavy electric guitars, and 4-part harmonies has drawn comparisons Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Fleet Foxes, Death Cab for Cutie, and more. Already, the band has been featured in the Chicagoist as a band to watch and in the Red Eye/Metromix as one of the top 10 local acts of Chicago. Their music has also received airplay on Q101 and WXRT.

Hemmingbirds are currently promoting Death Wave by playing frequently around Chicago and touring around the country and look to release another record in the coming year.

Session Tracklist
1. Mellow Gold Haze
2. Vineyards
3. Perpetuator
4. Toxic Noise
5. Line Of Bones
6. Slippery Slope
7. Falling Through The Aether

Chicago, IL

Visit the band’s website


Indie RockAudiotree